twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

An action packed encounter. And that was just The JTs v the Verminous Dee. But before the football...

The new boiler fitting had arrived! At 0757 the guys arrived; I let them in and sped off to meet Tom at the bus stop to borrow his keys. He was off to his English prelim. I returned and gave the keys to the boiler men and quickly emptied the hall cupboard in order that they could - dunno - have access to some pipes or other. Would've been nice to know this in advance but given I've had heating for 8 days since 30 Nov 23, now was not the time to antagonise them what was charged with remedying the situation.

And off into a grey miserable day. Thankfully I managed to get my 1000 well early and I was able to plough through a bunch of other stuff and be at Her's by the time the rain really kicked off. After sheltering behind a cup of tea until it was time to venture out for my midday call;  to a QOS fan who likes cricket. Possibly a unique individual? And then plodded around the Meadows and onwards to Dumbiedykes; sheltering in the stairwell of the high rises there, typing up notes waiting for my 1300. 

After he'd been and gone, I managed another one on the trek back to Her's (it really was too wet to be on a bike) and She met me in the Meadows and we did a tag team thing where I relieved Her of the hound and headed for more tea vicar and an afternoon of writing nonsense. 

Lasagne was then proffered and as the rain eased but the wind rose, I went off to Tynecastle.

My mate Baz is a Dundee fan and wanted to see his beloved take on the mighty Hearts at Tynecastle. We did wonder if the game might even get started with a forecast of 50-60 mph winds forecast for the evening. 

But start it did. And a game of 2 halves. Hearts were frankly adject and were 2-0 behind edging towards half time. 

But McCowan came off for Dundee and Forrest was added for Hearts and thereafter, the momentum shifted. Dundee started the 2nd half brightly and should've been 3 goals up and - stop me if you've heard this one before - a 2-0 deficit was turned into a 3-2 lead by the 86th minute. As a neutral I was delighted; the Dundee fans philosphical as they hadn't expected anything before kick off and Hearts fans relieved. 2 close games in 4 days for them, but ultimately papering over the cracks with a couple of largely unconvincing performances. It was a relieved Pensioner in the main stand. Still. They're 3rd. Says a lot about Scottish football.

Still the day wasn't done. She was in the office on Wednesday so I sped off to Her's, collected the hound and boared a 9 homewards. Before too long we were both spark out. 

Up wi the bunnets o' Bonnie Dundee

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.