ArcLight+

By ArcLight

Unsafe

This is a picture of the tenement building at Archerfield on Lindsay Road that has been deemed to be structurally unsafe. The flats and the pub at the bottom have been evacuated and Lindsay Road closed, necessitating bus and traffic diversions which are doubtless very inconvenient indeed. Pedestrians can go round the back of the building. Apparently it's just the one stair that is closed - the one at the other end with the much loved cafe Haven at the bottom is still open. A colleague of mine used to live at the top of that stair.

I was blipping Leith on a day when I expected to be in the city centre because I gave myself a day of self care. I struggled to get to sleep last night, despite the relaxing end to the day, mainly because I felt very cold indeed. I think it was tiredness and the struggle to get certain things out of my head. Today I had no unavoidable reason to go in, so I stayed at home and worked from my study. I popped out for a walk at lunchtime to get some fresh air, some exercise and a blip and ostensibly to collect a prescription. However, that latter part was unsuccessful because the pharmacy in question does not dispense at lunchtime as the pharmacist is out of the building... Very annoying.

In the evening, we continued our periodic watchathon of university challenge, completing the run of "Christmas" episodes. We caught up with the rest of the world in discovering that Middlesex had won the competition. That came as quite a (pleasant) surprise to us, and ostensibly to the team members who were very low key. It was good to see the competition not being won by an oxbridge college.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.