Kipsie

By Kipsie

Loving the light .............

Walked up to town fetched the newspaper, seeded crusty roll to go with mum's meal later, plus a vegetarian pizza for lunch. Mum & I have guests visiting today. Popped the last batch of flower seed mixes (14 tubs) on the side step of the house for people to help themselves. Posted it on the local FB page. Response immediately. That's good.  Left homemade pate for hubby's lunch.
Dropped the car down to Jerry in Teigngrace. Fingers crossed whatever he's doing to the car this morning will fix the heater problem. He dropped me back to CK. Gave Mum her antibiotic tabs, then set off with Indie on our walkabout. What a glorious morning. We all love the sun on our backs :-). Gorgeous birdsong that I could sit and listen to all day long - Blue tit, Great tit, Wren, Blackbird, Robin, Stonechat. Green woodpecker away in the distance, Coal tit, a Buzzard flew over. The sparkly leaves were one of natures freebies that caught my eye today. The large protruding metal catch caught my leg .... OUCH!!!! That brought a tear to my eye. Oh, it hurt. Bruise just coming out now, 7 hours later. :-(
Back at Mum's, I'd brought down a couple of small picture frames thinking they would be perfect for Mum  to frame her mindful colouring in efforts. Too small. Drat!!! Never mind, Mum has "got it", so she's ready to do another, so she had a look through the book while we had our coffee. we have the book, BUT the box of watercolour pencils has disappeared. ARGH!!! We looked everywhere, well, I looked everywhere including the freezer, oven, bathroom cabinets, even the refuse bin. I had to leave looking for a while as I needed to vacuum, & clean a bit before the guests arrived.
Peter, & his son were visiting Mum really, Peter was a frequent visitor to Devon 50 odd years ago when Mum & Dad had the village pub. He has remained a friend all these years. He counts CK as his second home. I guess for the locals he was a refreshing change, he came from Tottenham, a young lad, in his early 20's, a different girlfriend each time he visited. They got him on the scrumpy, he took it all in his stride, loving the attention, I think, he became a friend to many. He was coming down to visit as I'd mentioned before Xmas that Mum had been diagnosed with Alzheimer's/dementia. Andrew, who I'd never met before came with him. We had a lovely catch up. Peter brought some old Polaroid photos from the pub days, which were lovely for Mum & I to look back through. Peter had the same cancer as me at approximately the same time, so we had notes to compare as he is now unable to eat/drink (Dysphagia, a result of muscle damage from radiotherapy). So no pizza for Peter. He had brought a machine with him ( Biozoon - Air with flavour) that can create a flavoured foam. He wanted me to try it as my sense of taste  is'nt great for feedback - no pun intended, seriously, because his recent chat with his consultant had resulted in him doing some research, and suggesting this machine. He obviously wanted to know how Peter found it before possibly suggesting it to other patients. He frothed an Apple & Blackcurrant Fruitshot for me to sample. It worked.
Jerry arrived with the car.
Peter & Andrew headed off to Shaldon for a reminisce, they are staying in Bovey TRacey tonight before heading home via Wells tomorrow.
I found the box of colour pencils in amongst a stack of magazines. Gathered up my stuff then headed back to Chudleigh.
Dropped hubby up the pub to see his pals.
1 tub of flower mix left, plus a £1 coin. A nice gesture. That can go in the charity pot. Will post a thank you on the FB page in a mo.
There's going to be a beaut sunset down west tonight, the colours across the rooftops are great.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.