iaint

By iaint

Uplifted

This morning I went for part 1 of my shingles vaccination. I will get a second dose in about 3 months time. 

It was all very painless and routine. To reward my bravery I tried to buy a cake or sticky bun at the bakery nearby, but the queue put me off. Instead I went across the street to a specialty shop and bought dates instead. 

Much healthier. 

I was reminded (because I saw them) to buy Kashmiri chilli powder and mango chutney, so it was an exotic and rewarding experience. 

I took it easy in the afternoon just in case of any reaction to the vaccine (well, that is my excuse) but so far, so good.

My Blip is the church which has rented out its meeting hall to the vaccine service - one of the town's less glamorous buildings. The barbed wire on top of the fence is particularly welcoming. I guess it is a delicate balance between keeping some of the locals out, and inviting others in. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.