Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

All those years ago

Dull and windy - we want sunshine! Usual Saturday morning visit to the pier for fresh fish and then to the library and a bit of shopping. This weekend is the RSPB Big Garden Birdwatch where we're asked to count the birds coming to the garden for an hour over the weekend. We had a go this morning, but there was so little activity that we'll have another go tomorrow. 

Not a good Blip day really - not inclined to go out as it's so dreary!  An indoor Blip today then - I bought this book recently on eBay. Apparently the Evening News only published year books in 1953 and 1954 - or at least nobody has discovered others. I read about the 1954 edition on the website called 'The London Inheritance' and went immediately online to find one for sale on eBay with 15 minutes to go! I made an offer and bought it! It's a record of just about everything which happened in London in 1954 from politics, news, sport, London Zoo, theatres, the Thames, and some amazing pictures. All I can say is that it cost me a little more than 'One Shilling and Sixpence' - I'm almost afraid to open it in case I damage it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.