Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

A potful of Mexico

Another horrible wet and windy day. We were going to have another go at recording the birds for the RSPB survey this morning, but it was even worse than yesterday! 1 coal tit, 1 robin, 2 collared doves, 4 blackbirds and a load of sparrows! It's such a shame, as it gives a totally wrong impression of the birds that we often see here.

Apart from going out to spread birdseed and crumbs in the hope of attracting some birds, I haven't been further than the greenhouse to have a quick check on the plants. This potful of seedlings came from Logan Botanic Gardens, or rather the seed did. I'd asked Curator Richard Baines for some fern spores last year and when he sent them I found a few other packets of seed included, including this Beschorneria yuccoides, a native of Mexico, in the family Asparagaceae and sub-family Agavoideae - just in case anyone's interested! Whether they'll survive outside here I don't know - they obviously need a dry, sunny spot, something we're not well-known for! I think I grew a clump at Arduaine against a greenhouse wall, though it might have been another species - without the records I can't say. 

A few more hours sorting and titling photographs. I'll be finished in about 20 years!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.