TMac

By TMac

Thoughts on Ice

The loch was frozen today.
As I walked and listened to the creaking and groaning of sheets of ice trying to creep past the shoreline, my mind turned to a very peculiar experience I had a few months ago. 

It's a very long and frankly ridiculous story, but the general gist is that I was somehow hoodwinked into paying for a session with someone who I thought was going to work with me using yoga as a platform to help me cope with chronic pain. 

Turned out to be one of the most incredulous experiences of my life.
I hate pseudoscience. I abhor those who take money from others offering false hopes and use beliefs over evidence to sell their wares.
Yet, still, I was sucked in somehow. 

Part of my nonsensical "therapy" involved a story about how if we talk nicely to water then freeze it, it forms perfect beautiful ice crystals. 
But, if we speak angrily, or are unpleasant to the water, it freezes as an amorphous mush.
Debunked theory by a completely misguided Japanese guy.
I sat through an entire session of this nonsense and paid £45.
Of course, it did absolutely nothing for my health. It did make me very angry though...

Fire and Ice
"Some say the world will end in fire,
Some say in ice.
From what I’ve tasted of desire
I hold with those who favor fire.
But if it had to perish twice,
I think I know enough of hate
To say that for destruction ice
Is also great
And would suffice."
~ Robert Frost ~

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.