mcgoobs

By mcgoobs

Stuffed

So I've been trying to eat along a vaguely Greek theme at least some of the time, so I bought an aubergine (from Lidl, cough) and stuffed it, essentially with everything I had in the fridge (some chopped up kofta meat, onion, mushrooms, lentils, tomato, garlic, cheddar and feta). Here is the end result, it was pretty yummy!

TUI have certainly been teaching me some valuable life lessons during my time here, such as "if you want a job done properly, do it yourself", "patience is a virtue" and "keep calm and carry on". It's amazing how despite the infallible corporate logic held up by policies and procedures, rules and regulations, guidelines and so forth, the basic, ground-level ways of doing things can be so damn nonsensical! It doesn't help that I'm the only rep covering a small and somewhat isolated resort (the post is collected once a week and there is a bus that runs once a day to Corfu town) and that my manager is based in 25-minute-drive-away Kavos, where alcohol-steeped chaos keeps him preoccupied most of the time. My arrivals lists can only arrive by hand (if my manager delivers them) or by fax. I'd almost forgotten that fax machines even existed, but here they are a vital instrument of communication.

Antiquated technology and corporate chaos aside, I'm really enjoying the job, most of my guests are a delight to work with (as are the hotel staff) and, honestly, how many people can say they get to go to the beach on their lunch break!?

Flying home in less than two weeks and SO SO SO excited to see some familiar faces, celebrate my cousin's marriage and get a good dose of home to fuel me through the rest of my time here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.