Lunch in Varenna

Up at the crack of dawn, or as near to the crack of dawn as 8am is allowed to be. We decided to have lunch in Varenna a village on the east bank of the lake and a little north of Lenno. About 45 minutes on a slow boat. We do have fast boats on the lake, a hydrofoil and a catamaran. I am not sure which is faster, my money would be on the hydrofoil.

Varenna is another of these unspoilt villages clinging to a sliver of land between water and mountain. The photograph shows the little port to the north of the village. It was quite breezy today, even though very warm. We chose the Hotel del Sole, very appropriately named at the time of our visit. I chose a seat in the shade, however due to the wind they had to put down the parasols. As a result I ended in the sun, and unlike the pasta was getting severely overcooked.

After lunch a stroll though the village leads back to an ice cream, and subsequently to the ferry terminal. I think the ferry was struggling a bit with the wind as it took nearly an hour to get back to Lenno. The journey was accompanied by one of the crew being taught the ropes, literally.

We decided to have a beer and an Aperol Spritz on the way back. Regrettably I chose the only bar that had chosen Monday as its day off. I had the beer on the return to the flat. I am afraid we could not do anything about the Aperol.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.