Market Day

Market day today so the village was heaving. We took a leisurely stroll around the market before lunch, and a few purchases may have been made, though not by me. Although the pace may have been leisurely the market was vary busy with locals and tourists. I was amazed by the number of people speaking English.

In general it looked to me like the market does pretty good business on both the food and general produce stalls. When I took this photograph I was sitting in a bar having a beer, my reward for having walked around the market for an hour or so. Immediately to my right there is a stall selling leather goods which seemed to be doing good business.

The beer turned into lunch, so we were able to watch the stalls on either side of the bar being dismantled. When we were in Varenna yesterday I did come across a couple of items which would have been nice for the apartment. Maybe I will find something similar on our next visit.

A beer turned into lunch with a glass or two of wine. Some days ago I commented on how easy it is to eat in a healthy manner here, it is also quite easy to enjoy a glass or two of wine, which may offset partially the healthy eating. I did pass the ice cream shop without buying one, but the day is not over yet. He does super ice creams, definitely to be recommended for anybody visiting Lenno.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.