FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Pool in the Press

Refreshing outdoor swim this evening after feeling rather glum today. I had a morning of meetings planned in Canterbury but it was cancelled last minute by a colleague (for a flaky reason) just as I was about to leave.

Dragged myself out for a coffee and ran some errands late afternoon before talking to a film locations friend which cheered me up as we’ve made exciting plans to meet tomorrow. I then headed to the pool which instantly lifted my mood.

The KM article came out today about the Faversham outdoor pool featuring my video interview. I was led to believe several swimmers would be featured but it turned out to be just me, the pool manager and a lifeguard!

Talking to the pool receptionist this evening it seems several other swimmers and staff were as equally unimpressed as I was by the journalist’s negative comments about how cold the water was, ear ache and numb toes!

You’d think the pool is 3C not 19C so it is not a realistic view, but since when do journalists let negative facts get in the way of a good story ? (Incidentally this is one of the reasons I gave up PR, integrity is in short supply). She also swam indoors first, came outside in 2C with wet hair and no dry robe so what does she expect ? No common sense.

Luckily my bit went down okay even if I did look a bit deranged as my left eye was sore so I look like I’ve been punched!

I hope the article encourages more swimmers and supporters of the charity as the pool celebrates 60 years this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.