Combi31

By Combi31

Damsel detail

Here's a damsel, a bit close up - have a look in large if you dare.

I went down to the lakes today, the forest is in a state of utter devastation.

I don't know if you remember, but last week I spoke about the mother of all storm that we were having - I couldn't even get in the car and drive to pick up Hon. Son N°2 from rugby training - which was cancelled anyway due to the storm.

Weeeell, it turns out that it was in fact a very powerful tornado that carved a corridor, destroying all in its path? Trees looked like they were snapped as if they were matchwood and there are even two big pylons reduced to a bent and mangled pile of metal.

I had a look in at the buzzards, that were nesting there and saw two beautiful young fledglings on a tree - I took a couple of shots, but with a 100mm what can you expect - I was really pleased to see them though. I also saw some bright red birds that I have never seen before and obviously was shadowed all along the way by the taunting and sarcastic golden orioles *shakes fist at tree tops* you wait till I get my gear sorted you varmints.

There were sandpipers, kingfishers, kites and egrets (both little and great) and I also saw a pair of purple herons.
Ah, it was a nice walk - especially as I had my head in French business bureaucracy all day ...

Today's music blip is a track from the first French album I bought when I came here L'Affaire Louis Trio - Mobilis in Mobile

Hope you enjoy it :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.