Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Mid-Flit

Black-capped Chickadees (along with just about every other species in the "tit" family) are extremely flitty little birds.  Rarely do they ever stay still and photographers everywhere are challenged to get a sharp focus rather than an empty frame.  For all that, they are charming little birds and show very little fear of humans.  I took this from a distance of maybe 7 feet, using my Sigma 100-400 lens and the D850.  

I am going to take this lens to SA when I go, along with two shorter, wider zooms.  Honestly, I don't use it all that often because it is just a little heavier than is comfortable for me (not to mention, I love my 300 F4 lens SO much).  But, the Sigma is a very nice lens and I'm usually always pleased with the results I get when I use it.  And for SA,  it will give me a bit of extra reach.

I drove almost an hour this morning to go to the Travel MD office.  Once there, it was a pretty quick process.  The doctor gave me a couple of scrips (anti malarial and an antibiotic),  and a Hepatitis A jab  along with a bunch of information.  So that's a big one off my list!

I called and schedule another appointment with the optometrist because I'm just not happy with the fit of my new scleral lens.  I was so lucky with my first one that the first fit worked perfectly, but that is not usually the case so I'm not surprised that I have to go back.  They can't get me in until next week, so I'll wear the "old" scleral until then.  I picked up a year supply of the single use soft contacts for the other eye yesterday.  

Thanks so much for all the birthday wishes yesterday!  It was exactly the day I wanted - quiet and cozy.  Dinner was delicious and I enjoyed my bit of red wine.  Hubs had gone to the bakery and gotten some lovely tarts for desert, too.  

Fifty two days until I leave for South Africa!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.