SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Imperial

Despite the rail strike, it was easy to get to Imperial College for 10:00, and I had a great meeting with my host. She's very eminent, but doesn't have an ego, so I instinctively trust her, and it was easy to chat. We shared a lot of subject gossip as well as concluding they we both have too much on to put together a research grant application. It's a shame, as we complement each other well. She's got research strength, and I've got the vehicle to transform the outcomes into something useful. 

Being in South Kensington, there was a nice restaurant around the corner for lunch with her and three Imperial staff who wanted to meet me. I then gave my seminar, finishing well within the hour, which was good as there were lots of questions. 

I left soon afterwards, which gave me plenty of time to think and handle a couple of things that were going on in Edinburgh. I walked through Kensington Gardens, Hyde Park, and along the Embankment before taking a tube to King's Cross. There I had an excellent pint and plate of pub food before getting on the train back to Edinburgh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.