A day in the life

By Shelling

30 minutes pause

I was playing some songs at an event in the local church called "30 minutes pause", a new initiative from one person within the organisation who came up with the idea of a concept called "30 minutes paus". It's a simple idea of half an hour in the space of the church to meet, listen to something and a meditative silence, ten minutes of each. I was invited to play music for the ten minutes in the middle. This is a new concept of inviting people to the church and to use the space for other things than the mass on Sundays and this was the first time in this church. We ended up being twelve people, including the priest, the organisor, a caretaker and myself. I like the idea but I think it needs some fine-tuning and to make some noise about it happening. There was only one ad in the local church paper about it and it didn't go into detail about what was meant to happen, it didn't mention me playing either. The atmosphere was very nice and the listening was super concentrated. Only women attended this time, apart from the caretaker and me but I hope it can keep on developing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.