Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Sunny daffodils

It has been another busy day - but at least today is sunny and the light has the quality of spring, even if it is still a bit chilly at 9C. I photographed these daffodils this morning when walking Xena, there are a large patch of them growing near the woods where we walk. Daffodils always bring a smile to my face as they are the harbingers of spring.

I had another physio appointment today, it was my follow up appointment with the NHS Physio dept. It was very useful. I know that I need to keep exercising, strengthening and stretching to keep my aches and pains at bay - osteopenia in my left hip and (apparently) osteoarthritis in my lower back. I know what exercises to do, weight bearing to strengthen bones,  and to try and eat more calcium - not easy when you cannot have lactose - but I do eat very healthily. I have been very impressed with that physio department. I then went into the village to pick up a few things Tommy wanted for lunch, as he arrived back from Cambridge today. 

Today would have been the perfect day to go photograph the short eared owls, sunny with good light and no wind, but unfortunately I had to miss that opportunity as Tommy and I are going to London on the 5pm train to join Gavin at another Skinner's Dinner. This is the annual Lord Mayor's dinner but he does not come to this (?) and instead all the head teachers from all the schools in the Skinners Company will be there so the focus tonight is on education. 

I am loving The Bee Sting by Paul Murray - the first book I have read by this very accomplished Irish writer and it won't be the last. In fact I am loving all things Irish at the moment, having just finished John Boyne's new novella Water (also brilliant) and enjoying TV shows set in Ireland - I watched Kin last year and now am enjoying The Dry. 

Still trying to catch up with journals....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.