Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

A lotta, lotta ferns

Another dull, damp day - not one to encourage me out! Spent the morning on the usual - emails, Photo Club stuff etc. Last night we had our 'Dilapidation' competition judged - the judge sent an audio/visual file - and most of mine were in the average plus category, except one. I entered a picture of a public toilet which had been rather neglected and fitted the category well - I titled it 'Passing place'. The judge was rather embarrassed, I think, gave it 15 out of 20 and moved on quickly. I've put it on as an extra just for a laugh!

Walked down to Atlantis Leisure for my usual Thursday afternoon gym session. I managed to have a session on 9 different machines today - must be mad!

As usual, not a good day for pictures, so my Blip today is of a panful of germinating fern spores. Fern spores don't germinate and produce baby ferns directly, but the first stage is the production of prothalli, which later on turn into ferns. These were sown last July and should be ready to plant out in two or three years! Blechnum palmiforme, now unfortunately known as Lomariocycas palmiformis, is an evergreen fern from the island group of Tristan da Cuhna, in the South Atlantic and is reasonably hardy on the west coast. I Blipped this fern some years ago - https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2302104490553115832

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.