Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Brain scan

On and on and on! Wet and windy yet again!  I went out briefly to help bring in MrsM's shopping from the car this morning, but that was it. 

Spent a lot of time today trying to find a suitable scanner. I have so many old slides - somewhere near 10,000 - and I really want to pick out the best of them and scan them before the slides deteriorate. Well some of them do go back to the 1960s! I dug out my old scanner - my Blip today - which I used a lot in the past, and set it up, reloading the software, but couldn't get it to work. When I checked I found that it wouldn't run on any software later than Windows XP, which was last issued 15 years ago. I found a site offering software to run any scanner known to man, but again, it told me that it wouldn't operate on my computer with Windows 10. What a waste! If anyone out there's still using Windows XP, there's a free scanner waiting for you!

I decided to buy a more simple scanner, one that uploaded scans to an SD card instead of a computer. This way they never get out of date - I hope. I can't imagine how many I looked at, how many reviews I read.  Doing my brain in! So I picked one that sounded as good as any and ordered it. I'm not going to say which it was, as I know that somebody will say "I bought that one, and it's rubbish!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.