Desperately dodgy day!

Urrggh! When will it stop raining! I had to go down town this morning to choose and post a birthday card, and as Mrs M was out in the car I went on foot. It wasn't raining, though it looked pretty threatening, and I'd got most of the way to Tesco's, about a 15 minute walk, when the rain began.
 
I did the birthday card business, bought the papers and one or two other oddments and set off for the chemist to pick up a prescription. On the way back I take a short cut through a churchyard as there's no pavement on that side of the road. Unfortunately there was a wide puddle which looked quite deep - too deep for my leaky trainers, so I had to detour across the sodden grass and out on the other side.
 
Walking along the pavement was nearly as wet. I was so cross and well  deserving of being called a Grumpy Old Man! Many of the downpipes from the flats hovered over blocked drains which were flooding the pavements. A lot of the grids across footpaths and entrances were blocked too, as were some of the road drains. Water, water everywhere - pouring our of blocked gutters and streaming down every surface. You'd think that the council would be used to rain by now! 

A Blip? Ha! This is one of the pictures on Tesco's window! 

Quote of the Day: “Some people walk in the rain; others just get wet.” – Roger Miller.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.