Mikey88

By Mikey88

Damsel

(Day two of the cycling holiday is now up. Check the 16th June. See yesterday's blip for details if you don't know what I'm talking about!)

This is only the second damsel fly I've seen near our pond this year. A few years ago, we used to get between fourteen and sixteen at a time, but then last year, the population seemed to crash and now we're lucky if we get two or three over the summer - and no breeding ones for two years now.

Sadly, this one isn't going to breed. Shortly after I took this shot it flew onto the porch and into a spider web. I think the spider got to it before I could rescue it. I did get it out, but it seemed to have a bit of silk stuck to its feet. It's still on the porch, but I'm pretty sure it's dead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.