Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

This is my fourth batch of sauerkraut. The first went bad and was discarded. The second and third batches were tasty, although didn't produce much brine... but this batch is going berserk!

The only differences are that I've used red cabbage instead of green, and I've positioned it nearer to the hot pipe in the boiler cupboard. I hesitate to call it an airing cupboard since there's no hot tank and only one pipe that remains reasonably warm.

The cabbage/salt mix is covered with clingfilm, tucked well in, and topped with a bag of water to weight it down. I've had to unclip the lid of the jar, and the brine is bubbling up over the edge now and again... what on earth is it going to taste like!

Edit: after advice from the Fb group I've clipped the lid shut again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.