Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

The Littlest One

Yet another day of so far almost continuous rain, very depressing!  At least it's only 5 seconds out to the greenhouse, so I did a bit of clearing up and potting in there. Then a chat on the phone with my sister to catch up on family news and to arrange a visit down to London in early April.
 
I made a start on sorting out some books to take to the 'Bookends' at Benderloch next month. Back in 1990 my great-aunt Emily died - she was 98. We'd been to see her in Devon several times over the years and talked about her early days in the Sudan - she was married to a water engineer who was working out there before and during the war. She enjoyed her books and left them to me in her will. Many of them were classics and most of them were signed and dated - those that were not I'll take to Benderloch, but those with names and dates I'll keep. My Blip today is one of them - 'The Littlest One', a poetry book for children, published in 1914. She would have been 22 then and a teacher in Henley-on-Thames, so I imagine the book was for her schoolchildren rather than for her!
 
I like this one:
 
'Cos Pussy's turned her back to me
They say it's goin' to rain,
An' though I turn her round about
She turns her back again.
 
want it to be fine today,
An' so I think I'll creep
And sit the other side of her
While she is fast asleep.
 
 
The innocence of childhood!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.