The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

The Wishing Tree

At the top of the Park above Bishop Wilton, there is an old beech tree known as the Wishing Tree. The tree lost its crown a few years ago, I believe when a whirlwind whipped through the village and took out the crowns of many beeches and ashes. There is a lot of standing dead wood in the Wishing Tree, and the high density of holes indicates this is a valuable tree for wood boring beetles. And probably for a range of other so called saproxylic beetles too.

A little brass hammer has been hung inside the tree for use in hammering coins into the cracks. I had no change on me, so I couldn’t make a wish. If I had, I would wish for the old tree to be retained for as long as there is still life in it, and then beyond since standing dead wood is so vital for invertebrates, fungi and other life. So often dead trees are deemed to be dangerous and are taken down supposedly for public safety.

After the beautiful day on Saturday, Sunday was a grey day, and we had to abort our intended walk in the Wolds as the cloud had come down and it was mizzling. It was late afternoon before I eventually got out for a walk, and there was not a lot of light left. When the light is right, I shall post a picture of the whole of the Wishing Tree.

Apologies that I am thin on comments at the moment, the last couple of days we have had so much to sort out with the building work and planning the next round of work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.