Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

ASTRID

After a scare yesterday due to my TransPennine train to Northallerton being cancelled today's travel was absolutely trouble free.  Fortunately the LNER trains were running ( and were on time )  and I had already bought tickets. The trains were busy but I had my seats already booked,  ( Ive applied for a refund for the unused TransPennine tickets ).

Becky, Mike and Astrid met me at the station at 11.15am and we had a little drive around the area.  We found a park where Astrid played on the swings and slide. The weather was dry but VERY windy and rather chilly. 

Then we headed into town and went to Bettys Tea Room.  We hadn't booked but after a short wait we were shown to a table.  Becky ordered afternoon tea ( see Extra ), Mike had a traditional Yorkshire Fat Rascal and I had the newer version - a Gooey  Rascal ( its a Fat Rascal with a chocolate caramel centre ).  It came with whipped cream.  Delicious. (see Extra )

We had a nice catch up while we enjoyed the food.  Astrid kept giving me a hug - so many hugs.  ( see Extra )  She's such a sweetheart. And a chatterbox.

Around 3.30pm Becky, Mike and Astrid left to make the 5 hour journey back home.  I walked to the railway station to get my train at 3.55pm.  Its only a 45 min journey between Northallerton and Newcastle.  I got a bus in Newcastle without too much of a wait and was back home at 5.30pm. 

Steps today - 12,672

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.