Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Some Bling

Ring-billed gulls are common in my area - in fairness, they are drawn by the municipal land-fill located about 5 miles or so from here.  And in the winter, large numbers can be found on lakes and parking lots.  They are flexible eaters - happy to eat garbage, French fries or just about anything else.  

 I had to go drop my scleral lens off to get it adjusted so I took a camera with me and stopped on my way home to see if I could get some gulls in flight.  They weren't being especially cooperative so I settled for gulls sitting in the parking lot - not very exciting.  But then I noticed that this one was wearing some fancy jewelry.  With a little sleuthing I may even be able to find out where it was tagged and perhaps report the sighting.  Meanwhile, I got to play with exposure settings - white birds on sunny days are definitely not for the faint of heart!  

Last night we watched "Pretty Woman" with Julia Roberts, the ultimate in Rom-com.  It was one of my favorite movies years ago,  although hadn't seen it in probably 20 years.  It came out in 1990 and I have to say, it's held up well.  Predictable plot but sometimes that's perfectly fine.

I'm still having all kinds of issues with pain in my hands/wrists.  It's tedious.  Steroids really help, but I don't like to take them often so am making do with OTC pain relievers on most days.  The next step is adding another drug, administered via infusion and I don't want to undertake that until I am back from Africa.  Actually, if I'm being honest, I don't like the idea of infusions at all, but I will bite the bullet and do it if need be.

Meanwhile, hoping that King Charles is able to be successfully treated for cancer.  Such a gut-punch to learn one has cancer - I doubt I will ever forget it myself.  The good news is that there are so many effective treatments now and even the worst cancers aren't as hopeless as they once were.  Good luck, Sir.

Plain dark today.
xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.