suehutton

By suehutton

Candlemas

Last weekend saw Candlemas an old established Christian tradition celebrating the presentation of Jesus in the temple at Jerusalem and the purification of the Virgin Mary. It also marks the end of the Christmas/Epiphany period which is why in many places Christmas decorations are taken down then.

Pagan and Irish Celtic tradition name it Imbolc, the coming of Spring  and the feast day of St Brigid. In Germany it was the start of the farmers' year when all accounts were settled and people could start tilling the land and sowing crops.

Hence today's photo of a tea light in a crystal holder with plenty of opportunity to spot me in the many refractions.

Harry and Jack returned to finish the path to the pond and assemble the bug bench. They just about finished before heavy rain began to fall.

Len and Basil and I drove to Ashby where I had a podiatry appointment. My feet feel better for it but I think I must have bruised the pad where my big toe joins my foot. Not sure what I can do about that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.