Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Bathing in Pearlescent moonlight

What a glorious moonrise it was in the valley this evening. The cloud hugging the hills meant that a partial moonbow formed, giving this oil on water, mother of pearl tinge to the light as the moon crested the hills at the top of the valley.

I didn't have to guess on my timings either, as I finally got round to installing The Photographers Ephemeris on my Macbook Pro and iDevices. For those of you who don't know about this cheeky little app, it helps photographers by providing sun and moon tracking at your location. Want to know what time the sun rises at your exact location and how high it will be in the sky at a certain time of day? Then is your baby.

Tonight it meant that I just had to plug in my location and then drop a pin on my viewpoint as to where the moon hits the part of of the hills I was photographing. It then gave me the exact time at which the moon would be at that point. If you're a landscape photographer and want to know your exact position in relation to the sun and moon it really is essential.

Chatted to Daring2Go tonight on the phone too which was a real pleasure. We're hoping to make a mini-blipmeet a reality shortly, and maybe we'll do a quick jaunt to the hilltop and have a coffee and natter at Little River on the way back. I guess there'll be plenty of comparisons of dodgy knees, talk of Nikon lenses and a whole load of chat on other common ground. Should be cool. My first blipmeet too - excellent!

Right, time for more another cup of tea before it's time for Wimbledon coverage. Shame there's no strawbs and cream really...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.