Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Daredevil

This young chap ran up Merewether beach to where I was. Stopped and did stretches for a few minutes, picked up his board and then waded out to these rocks. He stood there watching the waves which were huge I might add for ages. I thought on several occasions he would turn around and come back but after about what seemed at least 10 minutes to me he found a break and jumped in. He was soon swept back towards me but paddled like crazy and eventually was a speck in the distance. I watched him for quite a while because he was on his own and really the waves were pounding. Eventually he moved down towards Dixon Park where there were at least other surfers.

It was really lovely to get out for a sunrise this morning. Not terribly spectacular but no rain here today. Plodding on with the catch up...nearly there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.