Bom

By Bom

Snowdrop Time

I was feeling back to normal today after the side effects from my shingles jab, and as the wind had dropped and it wasn't raining, I went over to look at the snowdrops at Walsingham. I arrived in the car park at 9:55 as the abbey snowdrop walk opens at 10, and found loads of other people had had the same idea and I got one of the last places in the car park. I knew I wouldn't be taking that many photos as there was no sun, but it's still an amazing spectacle and the forecast for the next week isn't any better. I had a lovely long chat with a couple who were visiting for the first time, and they were completely blown away by what they saw. It turns out they moved to the west of North Norfolk a few years ago from Hertfordshire and one of them used to work in MK where I used to live - it's a small world. The website had warned us to wear boots as it was quite muddy, and I certainly needed them in some places. The bridge I normally cross the river on was closed due to the high water table, but that led me to a walk I hadn't done before which was lovely. I suspect the snowdrops need another week until they're at their best - it's difficult to tell as it's been so windy and some were a bit battered. I might go back next week if we have a sunny day. I've added a collage as an extra. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.