Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

1% for Art

A fun art story.   MY dil sent me an email from her good friend with a link to that friend’s new Seattle city Councilwoman’s newsletter (we used to be in the same district, but this was just changed, or I would have received this too.    Among other news the council member related was that her office got to select art for their City Hall office from the city’s 1% for Art Program……and an old painting of mine was among the 6 pieces pictured!   do I remember this painting?  sort of.  Do I remember how it got to the 1% for Art program.  Nope.  (this program was started here in 1973 which sets aside 1%of capital improvement  project funds for the commission purchase and installation of art in a variety of places.  The history of such programs is interesting..dates back to FDR and his New Deal.)  But I did a bit of research on my shelves and do see I have “Seattle City Light” in collections listed on my resume. Which ended up here in their big collection.   And I have photos from this gallery show in 1983 but nothing like a list of paintings or what went where.  I was terrible at bookkeeping (is anyone surprised?)   


  I’d love to know where all those paintings are…..I have only 2  (actually, 3!) from this series of Island oil on paper paintings…the blip is one, on my wall…which you can’t appreciate  because of the reflection with other artwork, (which, like double photos, I like) ) .  The extra is now at City Hall….it’s called Jost Van Dyke and on the council website it says “ Jost Van Dyke 1982, Karen Berry, Seattle artist Karen Berry’s rendered a flattened landscape that could be representative of the Dutch Terrain.  Without an explanation for the title of the painting, we are left to surmise that this artist is drawing a parallel between a Dutch name and a Dutch landscape.”    (!)     Should I write and tell her that it’s the name of an island in the BVIs in the Caribbean where we recently had had a sailing trip?   The island MAY be named after a 17th C Dutch privateer, Joost van Dyk, who used these harbors as a hideout.    Don’t have the names of all the other paintings in this series, but H remembers the blip was from The Baths, a beach area on the island of Virgin Gorda in the BVIs.
   
All another life….all that artwork AND all those lovely trips!
sorry for too many words....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.