curns' corner

By curns

Merstone

I was up to make poached eggs.  At some point, not long after we bought the flat on the Isle of Wight, we were buying a few things for the kitchen. I didn’t - and still don’t - want to pack it with unused utensils and gadgets.  One thing I did buy was a microwave egg poacher. We have only used it a couple of times. It seems to me that it is one of those things that needs practice to get used to the precise timings to get a decent egg out of it. Today, it was not great, but it was better than previous attempts. 

In the afternoon to Newport on the No. 9.  A few things to buy from B&M and Poundland.  In the latter I ended up buying a hoodie for £10 because I like the colour. I wonder how long it will last? This is my reminder that I bought it today.

A stop to buy a coffee followed and then a walk along the old Sandown-Newport railway line (it closed in the mid-50s). It’s such a beautiful walk. We stopped at the - almost - mid point (Merstone) where the platform and a canopy is preserved to show where the railway once ran.  All around you can see how the landscape was driven by the railways: a few trees planted along an old line near the platform mean the tops are are at eye level on the platform and a line of pine trees planted to act as a windbreak for customers on the platform. Fascinating urban architecture and it’s such a shame that Newport isn’t connected to the railway.

I checked the bus app to discover the next bus was in two minutes. So our timing was great and we headed back to Newport with a plan to complete the other leg of the walk at some point. In Morrisons to tonight’s dinner (veg burgers and bottle of red) and another bus back to Ryde. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.