eyesee

By davidc

Flower Friday: Mono Tiny Daffodil

A friend gave my Editor a little pot of 3 daffodil bulbs the other day - the sort which produce tiny flowers. They just started to open today so here's the first one at the "infant" stage! It's only 1-1.5cm across but I thought it would work OK in mono, for the Mono Month Challenge.

I tried a different technique for the background today. I collect lots of photos of textures of all sorts, with the idea to use them to add textures in Photoshop (as I did for last week's FF challenge). However to save messing in Photoshop I called up one of the textures on my computer screen and stood the flower about a foot in front of it so that the texture was naturally applied "in camera". Using a moderate sized aperture (and a focus stack) I was able to keep the texture suitably out of focus. (I have however added a faint oil-paint filter in Photoshop as I thought it improved it - feel free to say so if you don't like it as it's a bit of an experiment.)

Thanks to BikerBear Anni for continuing to look after the FF challenge. Hope her vertigo is better soon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.