Looking back on High Dependency

The medical team were in great high spirits when they came round, and the lead guy told me I could be moving off the monitor later in the day, and might even be allowed out of the hospital on Tuesday or Wednesday (personally, I thought he was being over-ambitious)!

The physiotherapist wasn't long after the team, did some chest and lung listening, expressed satisfaction, and walked me to the near end of the corridor. This isn't far to go, but happening so short a while after surgery it seemed like a ridiculously great achievement.

That was the end of feeling good for the day, though. After yesterday's constipation, today it was the turn of nausea to spoil the party.

The blip cropped up during one of my repeat wanders, doing what the physio had told me to do during the day. The mirror shows the entrance to the Cardiothoracic High Dependency Unit, where I was treated to the most wonderful care and attention after getting out of Intensive Care. Being in here is as close as I can imagine to being checked into a 5-Star Spa. A huge thank you and well done to all the wonderful staff for all they did for me during those two days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.