Disposal

5.00 am: In the chair beside the bed so the nurses can change the sheets and pillowcases.
5.55 am: Washed and shaved in the bathroom across the corridor from the ward (doesn't sound like much, but a huge achievement in context).
8.00 am: Tubes and drains and other nastiness were removed yesterday; now they were followed by the intrusive wires which hard-wired me to the monitor machine (a process which definitely requires the holding of breath while it's done).
9.00 am: Hugely surprised when the ward nurse told me I could actually skip the need to be moved to a general ward and might go straight to convalescence today! I really did feel myself that I wasn't ready, and I was just as pleased when the medical team around and the head honcho said I'd 'move out of here in a day or two'.

By mid afternoon I was feeling like the proverbial million dollars, and I was in tip-top form from a succession of visitors came in. To all of them, I made a point of saying that if I get an offer tomorrow morning to move on to convalescence, then absolutely yes, I'd jump at it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.