curns' corner

By curns

Holiday park

Up and out for a noon booking at the Dell Cafe.  I ordered a tempura fish finger in a bun dish with Furikake Japanese fries, delicious. PY’s dinner came with ‘sexy fries’ but that’s just garlic and paprika and I am unconvinced that there is anything sexy about that. I only realised later that brunch was another piece of fish between bread (like last night’s fish kebab which was fish in pitta bread).

The challenge of this journal is that I can keep saying how nice it is to walk along the coast whenever I am on The Island. That’s the point of coming to the Isle of Wight.  I paused my tracker while we were eating but, after brunch, we continued along the sea front to - just beyond - Seaview. And then back. That’s over 5 miles of walking and none of it felt like an effort because most of the time I was watching the beach and the waves. It really is lovely.

On the walk back, we peered though the fence at the former Harcourt Sands Holiday Park. Not much happening after a bit of a flurry of demolitions last year but, later, I found an Isle of Wight Guru blog about it and accompanying You Tube video. Sad that so much prime seafront land is not available to anybody to use. I did see this sign beyond the fenced off area.  It’s a relic from the holiday park. I initially took the picture to try to read wha was written above ‘Private Property’. It seems to be the word “Renowned”.  I discovered from the blog that Renowned Holiday Villages were the owners when the park closed. There’s not much else visible from the front.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.