Grammy

By Grammy

What’s For Breakfast

We awoke anticipating a snow covered ground based on the forecast. Sun streaming in the window brought disappointment. It was windy and 34°F but the snow missed us. Our BIL fed the birds in a container close to the breakfast nook window. This finch decided to get breakfast soon after the seeds appeared. He must have known I needed him for my blip. We took down the Christmas tree after breakfast. My sister’s ornaments are special antiques so she wraps each one individually and carefully stores them in protective containers. It took hours to get them all put away. We ate a quick bite and decided to take a ride over to the St. Joseph’s community which is 3 miles as the crow flies and 12 miles by car. Part of the road had fallen off the side of the ridge a few years ago making travel dicey. We were pleased to find it has been repaired. Once again, we have a church closer to us than Moundsville. We walked through the large cemetery and my sister found her blip. We know that at least one of our ancestors lived in this part of WV. St. Joseph’s was definitely a German settlement. It was impossible to decipher all the names inscribed in those old stone markers. Our BIL will be making us pancakes for dinner in keeping with the Fat Tuesday tradition. Then we will settle by the fire for the evening. Hoping your day was just as much fun. Stay safe. Thanks for the visit. “The truth is, I don't feed the birds because they need me; I feed the birds because I need them.” - Steeping Sundays

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.