A day in the life

By Shelling

Dowland

Heavy fog met my eyes this morning when my curtain went up. I opened the window and took a picture as a car passed on my "lifeline" up the hill. The mild air and a few practicing spring gave me a positive feeling. Spring is clearly on its way.

My day was mostly spent searching for lute music and songs by John Dowland. J.D. was a court lutenist hired by the English and the Danish courts around 1600, you might say he's one of the best known lutenist/composer from that time, a contemporary with William Shakespeare. I've been asked if I can put together a short program, about fifteen minutes, for a performance in March and I will try to find some music that I can still manage to play. He wrote beautiful music but none of it is easy to play but I will try my best, I can always say no but I like challenges. Dowland is known for composing melancholy music and songs full of broken hearts, a style á la mode at the time.
I thought the mood in the blip goes well with the theme of melancholy.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.