A day in the life

By Shelling

Eranthis

Sweden is a long country. I live exactly 245,6 km from Swedens southernmost tip and 1397 km from the most northerly point, as the bird flies. Weather and climate varies enormously during the 1572 km journey. Therefore, saying that spring has entered Sweden in the shape of an Eranthis flower, is a big fat lie. Further south they are already blasé of signs of spring, up north the main winter season has just started, some has to wait until June to see what I saw today. Still, it makes me glad to see it again in my part of the country, one of the first flowers to show up in the early, deceptive, spring. We call it "Vintergäck", or 'winterfoil', in a crude translation.

Whatever the weather, I hope you are doing fine on this Valentines day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.