Teasel

By Teasel

Wreck

I was up early, as if for work, but in reality to make sure that BB was up and ready to get out with TT to catch the bus to Edinburgh.  He is off school this week, and off on his Duke of Edinburgh residential week.  I left them to it, but made sure that he picked up a few things that were still sitting around.  The two headed off for the bus, and I almost went back to bed, but didn’t.  Instead, I decided to do my “pre-work walk”, but waited until it was daylight before I headed out.  I also extended my walk to the river.  It was a lovey morning and very quiet, as it is the school holidays.
 
I came home, and as the day was in total contrast to the past few days, I hung out two loads of washing in the hope they would dry.   I felt like another coastal walk today, so headed over to Dirleton.  I parked up, walked down to Yellowcraig and then along the beach to North Berwick.  We’ve not been along that bit of coast for a while, and you can see the results of the winter storms, with lots of debris everywhere, and the dunes undermined in places.  It was such a lovely walk.  The tide was out, but the sea was still wild, however the sky was blue and the sea was blue, unlike the grey of yesterday.  I then walked back through the town and along the John Muir Way and back to the car in Dirleton.
 
I was feeling rather peckish, so drove home via the supermarket and picked up some things for a late lunch.  I then hung more washing out.
 
Late afternoon I got a message from BB.  He had arrived safely and they had had an afternoon of team building activities.  He also let me know he had received another two University offers, one of which was his first choice.  He’s delighted.  I felt very excited for him  He is really looking forward to the next stage of his life and being a student.  I went for a wee walk along the road, to enjoy the last bit of daylight, before I made tea.   After a beautiful day, the weather took a turn for the worst, as the wind got up and the rain was torrential.  TT came home totally drookit.
 
Later I watched a couple of episodes of One Day.  I’m not sure why, as I read the book many years ago and did not enjoy it.  I remember being in the minority at work, as everyone else loved it except me and another colleague.

It's been really nice having today off, especially after feeling pretty rubbish over the weekend, and it's been so nice to get out in the sunshine after a few very grey and damp days.
 
I don’t think I have ever noticed these boat remains at the beach before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.