Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Marhaba Lounge

(15/2/24)

I wanted to wriggle out of being in the office today, but then I remembered Nara was coming, so G and I left home. She went to tutor her student, and I enjoyed my day in the office. It was much better than last year. I took in chocolates for the team, and two others brought doughnuts. And then we heard a bell ringing. We looked up to see Jojo, the office assistant, all dressed in red, handing out cupcakes to everyone!

G picked me up for lunch, so I drove the car back to work. I love it when I can do that! It makes the afternoon go much better.

Today is unusual because it is Valentine's Day and Ash Wednesday. We went to the SA meeting, which was good. Getting there was a challenge. The traffic was manic, with hundreds of cars trying to reach St. Mary's Catholic Church. We parked near the Alliance Francaise and walked. We had the biggest congregation in months, including our Canadian family. Lovely.

We're going for a fat bike ride with Diane early tomorrow morning. G announced after church that she doesn't have trainers!! Argh. We went on the hunt for sneakers for her. Long story short, Matalan in Wafi came up with the goods, and we were home before 10. Enough time for me to fill in a few more gaps here but not enough time to download the pictures of the day.

My blip is of the Marhaba lounge in the office. Jojo and another office assistant decorated it yesterday with red hearts and a photobooth. And for my extra -  what a difference a day makes. Yesterday it was clear but with clouds in the sky. Today, we had blue skies in the morning, but the lighting wasn't anything as good. :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.