talloplanic views

By Arell

A grey day

I spent this morning continuing the last-several-days project of making some more hi-viz markings for Fidra.  While it has a practical purpose it is also a little bit of fun, but it has been very, very fiddly.

Then it rained and rained, so I decided to read instead of going out and getting wet.  Eventually the rain stopped, and I got myself ready for another shopping run, so of course the weather, who had been keeping a close eye on their beloved Mistress of Moisture, returned with more rain.  My fancy-schmancy reproofed Goretex jacket leaked all around the elbows, while Mirabel got utterly filthy from the cycle paths that the council never ever clears.  One day I will go back with a shovel and do it for them.

The big pond was grey and muddy and cold.  Two eiderducks moorhens were going at each other hammer and tongs, while the swans looked on impassively.  Of the posse of three swans there was only one youngster that I could see; I don't know if the other two have flown already, or if they have merely shed the last of their brown baby feathers, with their parents lounging around somewhere else.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.