talloplanic views

By Arell

The Ace of Shovels

This cycle path is a very popular and useful route.  It has been thick with twigs, crushed leaves and mud since about October, and despite regular requests to the council for maintenance, nothing has been done about it.  Everyone who walks, cycles and wheels themselves along here has got filthy dirty every time,

Today I finally snapped.  I went to the tool shop and bought myself a shovel, and set to work.  I tackled a section about 40 metres long and it took me an hour and a half, almost non-stop.  I also discovered that the flooding at the entrance to the viaduct is because the drain wasn't just blocked but almost totally grown over with vegetation.  The photo is when I was about halfway through the task.

I am now slightly broken.  While I ought to count this as nothing more than altruistic community spirit, I think I might send the bill to the council.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.