Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Blue

We got a couple of inches of fresh snow overnight so I hustled out to set up the hide this morning.  It was still overcast with some light snow showers when I went out - perfect conditions and one very happy photographer.  I came in periodically to warm up, but spent the better part of several hours in my happiest of places.  Jax kept the sofa warm while I shivered in the hide.  

I am tagging this image for my Yardbirds2024 list because I like the snowy background, raised crest and beguiling head-tilt.  And because I think it captures some of the fun of the blue jay personality.  I've heard them described as "saucy" which I think suits them very well.

While I was in the hide this morning, I heard the distinctive sound of snow geese and exited the hide in record time, craning my head up to see if I could spot them.  Sure enough, there were several hundred way, way, WAY up high, moving fast.  So far up that I could barely see them, let alone take any photos - a minute to just enjoy being.  Then, no sooner had I gotten myself re-ensconced in the hide, I heard more snow geese.  Another fast exit and this time the flock was traveling at a lower altitude so I managed to get off some shots.  I may see if Hubs wants to take a drive tomorrow down to a big reservoir south of here that usually hosts thousands of snow geese every winter.  

Last night's move was a silly one, "The Lost City" with Sandra Bullock.  It was enjoyable to watch and provided some good laughs.  Streaming on Paramount.  

I think I will tap into some dark chocolate with orange today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.