Everyday Life

By Julez

Watching Wigan Away.

Today was the day! First match of the title defence, away at the crumbling ground of Castleford Tigers and the first time I have ever gone to a season's opening fixture. The rain fell in varying amounts between heavy and oozing out of the air. 

I will keep you in suspense now as we are in the service station and Brian is keen to head home and put dry clothes on. As am I!

I didn't take too many photos at the ground - it was raining so much I was worried about getting water in my phone. A past phone was drowned in rain whilst in my coat pocket. I think you can see the rain in the photo. We were standing on open terracing. It was a sell-out crowd today. I may have repeated the R word too many times in this Blip. But it is quite appropriate to the amount of the stuff that fell on us.

The game was not a classic - hardly surprising given the conditions. We had someone sin binned in the first half, and Castleford had someone sent off! Both seemed a bit "soft" but I guess the referees are marking cards due to the new rules! It was fairly evenly balanced in the first half, but Wigan pushed on in the second half, going on to win 32 - 4! A good win in awful playing conditions to start the season.

The title comes from one of the crowd songs - this is pretty much all the words, apart from a bit of ole-ing!

Now we are home, in warm, dry clothes and having a tipple or two whilst watching another of today's matches recorded on Sky plus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.