pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Birthday Eve

Tomorrow is Jon’s birthday, but I am going away for a week and will be packing tomorrow so we decided to do something today. Just the two of us, so we decided on a wander round Norwich shops and lovely characterful streets.

We used the park and ride and were in Norwich by 10. We headed to Marmalades for breakfast. Scrambled eggs on toast for Jon and bacon sandwich for me. Then just a bit of wandering around the city. Jarrolds, John Lewis and the lanes. A coffee and cake stop at the cathedral. We ended up walking down my favourite road Elm Hill, where I took a photo of the house with the blue plaque about The Pastons. It isn’t the house they lived in, as that burned down around 1500 but it is built on the same spot in 1507 I think. Anyway, Jon bought me the second novel by Anne O’Brien about the Paston letters and I’m reading it at the moment. It is based on the famous letters from the 15th century, and I love all that real history, so walking in their footsteps today.

I hardly get into the city now, and although I really love all the old building, and cobbled streets, in general it is looking more drab and run down than when I was working in the city pre-pandemic. So many empty buildings. Lots of graffiti. Buildings looking tired. The high street really is dying. We are going to miss it when it has gone.

We drove home via Cromer. After a couple of hours at home, we drove back in to Cromer taking Henry with us and met up with Daniel, Viki and Mollie, for a meal at the Indian on the cliff. Lovely as always, food and company.

I’ve walked over 10000 steps - very rare for me. I hope that means I’ll sleep tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.