The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Big wheel keeps on turnin'

Cheltenham! I hadn't been there since November '23.
Had quite forgotten it's a party town. I went to meet friend D. He had wanted to treat me for my birthday. His self-health  files are out of date, and he'd suggested a dinner dance. I demurred. Not my sort of thing, and he is, sorry to say, frail and elderly these days.

 In the end I booked a cheap room above a pub for myself, and chose a restaurant, and tickets to a touring show at the Town Hall, called The Last Days of Disco. 

What a night! Fabulous meal (I had veggie options including chickpea-battered tenderstem broccoli); a cosy attic room on a quiet road, and a rip roaring show at which we could sit OR stand; walk or boogie!
I did about 8,500 steps of dancing, according to my watch! 

 
Thinking about my journey to this show (she said pretentiously) in a nutshell, I didn't dance to disco much when I was 14. I was too young to be able to watch watch Saturday night fever, and we were conditioned to think that  the Bee Gees were 'poofy' because of their falsetto voices, the white suits and lustrous locks. Luckily for me, I left school and went to Big Cities, met Real Gay people, went to clubs and festivals , and something called Five Rhythms dancing... Three million years later, I got interested in going to live music gigs again, and that was why I stumbled across his show. I had thought it might tie in with D's clubbing years, but it turned out that they were in the 1990s, so he he didn't really know the songs, but he danced and clapped, and sat a few numbers out. Honestly, what's not to like about sound, light, and people in sequins doing  very silly things? I'm enjoying my midlife crisis, though I wasn't actually planning to live to be 120, so maybe it's a 'last-dance before the knees give out' phase I'm goin' through.

Back to 'my pub' with D for a drink before he took a taxi home. The bar bit is awkward. I have realised that he's only half way through a drink before he is planning whether to have another one, and starts making statements such as 'baths are dangerous' (whaaat?). I had one drink (reliving my late teens with Bacardi and Coke!) he had two, then he got into his taxi, still aranging where to meet for breakfast the following morning.



 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.