The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Signs of spring

I awoke in the funny little pub-room and made my way out, and  two minutes up the road to Wetherspoons where I was meeting D for breakfast. My freedom breakfast was so enormous that I felt far from free after eating it. Said goodbye  to  D and watched him walk towards the car park. Until yesterday,  I hadn't seen him for two monts. He seems to walk more slowly than ever , and is more forgetful. He'll be 82 next week.

Headed up to a department store to choose a bath sheet, paid for with a Christmas voucher..Spent forever choosing one, then wandered around Cheltenham until it was time to catch the bus. These crocuses were snapped in St Mary's churchyard, which has been tidied up, with fresh pathways laid. From inside came the strains of the organ, and a stirring rendition of 'Onward, Christian soldiers'. This hymn was frowned upon at my convent, and was only allowed to be sung on the day of the biannual sponsored walk. It seems that the Other Side has the better tunes!

Came home and washed the towel, because I think new towels need to be washed before first use. The washing machine refused to spin. The wet towel was terribly heavy. I hung it up in the garden, and tried feeding the machine a load of bedding. This time, the load was correct, so it spun. Phew! Hung up the sheets, washed the bath towel again with another one (they spun), hung them both up. Put away all the washing I'd done yesterday before I went to Cheltenham. Put new bedding on. Wondered how my life had got so boring... It was a sunny afternoon.  Listened to a podcast (update on the excellent investigative story, Vishal, on BBC sounds. Started a new jigsaw, which has vivid colours, but isn't wooden.
Watched part of the BAFTAS.

Now I'm off to have a bath. Keep thinking that, although I've agreed to go away with D on holiday in September, he may either not be well enough to go, or possibly not even alive .Maybe we'll make it together  to the Red Hot Chilli Pipers' gig in June, maybe not. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.