AnnieBelle

By AnnieBelle

Dunedin

Today we drove from Timaru to Dunedin. After settling into our hotel I thought it might be nice to walk down to the bay but I was wrong as it was incredibly windy. (We're south of south now!) So we got back to the town and I went out for a blip. I'd had my sights on a spectacular church (see extra) and while I was pondering how to get it all into the frame and deal with the too-great contrast of sunlight and shade, I noticed the couple in my main and took a couple of photos without them noticing. Once back to the church, the same couple asked me to take a photo of them sitting on the lawn in front of the church. I obliged and the result from their phone was heaps better than mine.

This evening we went to dinner in a terrific Italian restaurant and who should be there but the couple. Sensing that they wouldn't be camera shy I went to them and showed them the photo I took of them which they liked very much so I sent it to them. It was a lovely encounter.

The church is the First Church of Otago (region) and is Presbyterian. Designed in 1862 by Robert Lawson in the decorated Gothic style, it was opened in 1873 and is heritage protected.

Enjoy what's left of the weekend. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.