Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Perky

One of the first adjectives that comes to mind when I think of wrens is "perky".  And in the case of our Carolina Wrens, "loud" is also top of mind.  Ounce for ounce, I don't think we have a bird with more sheer volume.  There were two of them zipping around this afternoon, grabbing little bits of suet and an occasional sunflower seed.  They will nest somewhere in our woods this summer, close by if we are lucky.
As the calendar marches on towards spring, the birds are starting to sing.  Yesterday I heard the first red-winged blackbird songs of the season and today there were a half dozen males calling from perches along the edge of the woods.  It's a sound that makes me smile because it means that spring is coming. In another month, all of the marshes will be alive with the songs of blackbirds. The house finches and titmice are singing now, too.  Although, in the case of the titmice, it's less of a song and more of a single-note call.  Soon the foraging flocks that form in winter will break up as pairs begin to set up breeding territories.

I feel much better today which makes me think that it was some random sinus thing, not a cold.  I'm happy about that!  And I have celebrated with a piece of dark with orange.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.