Wendy's World

By Wendles56

Christmas Present

I visited my Christmas present this afternoon, which is hanging out in the greenhouse in the allotment until the conditions are right for planting out.  I have wanted a Hamamelis for several years so it was a lovely surprise when its label was hanging on the Christmas tree.  I have to say that its 'flowers' remind me of Vesta crispy noodles, those bits of plastic you chucked in hot fat and they transformed! 

It was a pleasantly, warm morning so I did some flowerpot clearing and tidied up the shale that they sit on which had been encroached by moss.   I also finally replanted the salvia which had become pot bound and has been sitting looking dejected on the patio since I freed it from its pot.  WilsdenWalker and I managed a short hobble late afternoon.

If you are looking for a book recommendation, I have just enjoyed 'The Marriage Portrait' by Maggie O'Farrell, set in Italy in the 16th century about a feisty young noblewoman married off to a Count who is not what he seems.....beautifully written.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.